89 octane gas????

Hey group,

The gas prices are friggin out of control here in NY. I broke down and put 89 octane (SPECIAL grade, rather than super, 93) in my 2004 325 xi. It seems to be OK, no knocking or anything.
I really dont notice any difference. Any of you using this type of gas? I know BMW recommends using 91 octane, and I usually filler up with 93 from Mobil, but like I said, the prices are getting ridiculous. Please let me know.....

Big Daddy

I would not put in less than the recommedned octane. At 20 cents a gallon difference between premium and special grade and a ten gallon tank your talking a whopping $2.00 difference, is your engines life worth two bucks?

I would have to agree. There are special electronics inplace to prevent knocking when using lower than recommened octane. But I'm sure that savings will come back to haunt you down the road. Most likely when your car is out of warranty[fake]

I've been putting 89 octane in my 99 A4 for the last 4 years and have had no knocking or performance problems. Audi, like BMW, recommends 91 or higher.

I'll probably put 93 in my 325i (still on order) for a while, but after the experience with my A4, I'm definitely switching to 89.

I don't know you guys. You have new cars and put 89 octane gas in it, I have a 95 and put 93 in it all the time unless I put 94. You paid that much for the car and save a few bucks on gas. All octane gas comes from the same oil but the higher the octane the cleaner the gas, that's why it gives more performance and costs more. If you know that youre running water is not that clean and you have money for a filter, would you put it in? I sure would or at least boil the water. Same for cars. But it's your car and I can't tell you what gas to put in it.

epj3

I started putting 89 octane gas in, since it does seem to run a little smoother and it idle's 100% better. As long as it stays under $1.669/gallon, I'll keep using it.

Big Daddy